Home EDUCATION Determining Between Two Scrum Training Certifications – PSPO®®,.op versus CSPO®
Determining Between Two Scrum Training Certifications – PSPO®®,.op versus CSPO®

Determining Between Two Scrum Training Certifications – PSPO®®,.op versus CSPO®

by Priya Agarwal

What do you understand by CSPO®?

The Scrum Alliance has defined CSPO® or Certified Scrum Product Owner® as someone who has gained their CSPO® training course about the principles, practices, and Scrum terminologies that will ultimately allow them to fulfill the position of a Scrum Product Owner from a Certified Scrum Trainer or CST. 

What do you understand by PSPO®? 

Professional Scrum Product Owner, also known as PSPO®, is a certification training course that is provided by Scrum.org. The mission of Scrum.org is to refine the role of a Software Developer. 

The Basic Comparison of Professional Scrum Product Owner and Certified Scrum Product Owner®

While the CSPO® training course is offered by Scrum Alliance®, the PSPO® certification is offered by Scrum.org. The Certified Scrum Product Owner® certification has steady credit requirements of education in an interval of three years. It is also a renewable course. PSPO®, on the other hand, need not ever be renewed. 

Body of Authorization

The body of authorization of the PSPO® and CSPO® training certifications are as follows:

  1. Certified Scrum Product Owner® – Scrum Alliance
  2. Professional Scrum Product Owner – Scrum.org

Renewal of PSPO® and CSPO® Certifications 

  1. CSPO® – Once you have earned the CSPO® certification, the credential will be valid for the next two years. If you wish to renew your certification, you will have to provide 100 USD as a renewal fee and 20 educational units of Scrum. 
  2. PSPO® – After you have earned the PSPO® certification, you do not need to renew it for the credential does not ever expire. 

Requirements for Training

  1. CSPO® – In order to acquire the CSPO® certification, the candidate has to attend the two days classroom training of CSPO® from a CST® or Certified Scrum Trainer® provided by the Scrum Alliance. 
  2. PSPO® – For the PSPO® certification, the candidate does not need to take up a course for training. 

After Examination Certification 

CSPO® does not require the candidate to appear for any examination. Once they complete the training of fourteen to sixteen hours from a Certified Scrum Trainer, the candidates receive their certification from Scrum Alliance. When it comes to the PSPO®, the candidate has to appear for and clear the PSPO® I examination. After that, they will get the PSPO® I certification which is recognized by the industry. Along with the certification, they will also get a logo of PSPO® I which they can use to identify their achievement. 

Passing Score

  1. CSPO® – Nil. In order to achieve the credential, the candidates have to complete activities at the discretion of the trainer. 
  2. PSPO® – Eighty-five percent

Time Limit 

  1. Certified Scrum Product Owner® – None
  2. Professional Scrum Product Owner – Sixty minutes


  1. CSPO® – Nil
  2. PSPO® – English


  1. CSPO® – Nil
  2. PSPO® – MCQ or Multiple-Choice Questions and True or False

Number of Questions 

  1. CSPO® – Nil 
  2. PSPO® – Eighty

Level of Difficulty 

  1. CSPO® – Nil
  2. PSPO® – Intermediate 

Now, before you make the final decision between PSPO® and CSPO®, remember that in the case of earning certifications, it is best to demonstrate your commitment and willingness to self-improvement, get the skills endorsed, and get recognized by potential recruiters. 

Related Posts